PSI makes two awards each year to practicing statisticians and elects honorary members on an occasional basis.We also work with universities to recognise excellent students of statistics.

The PSI/RSS award for statistics in the pharmaceutical industry

Since 2011, PSI and the Royal Statistical Society have awarded a prize each year for the most influential example of the application of an existing statistical practice, or the implementation of an innovative statistical practice, in the pharmaceutical industry. Further details, including entry forms, are available via our Statistical Excellence in the Pharmaceutical Industry Award page, or on the RSS website.

The Mick Godley award

PSI relies on volunteers to organise and run all of its activities. Since 2003 the Board of Directors have recognised the unsung heroes of PSI through the annual Mick Godley Award. The late Mick Godley was an Honorary Member of PSI and he will always be remembered for his enthusiasm for, and commitment to, the health and growth of PSI as an organisation. Along with this recognition, each recipient wins a free place at an annual PSI Conference.

Honorary membership

The society occasionally recognises long and outstanding contributions to the society by awarding honorary membership.  It is the highest award PSI can bestow and recognises outstanding service on behalf of PSI and its membership sustained over many years.

YearPSI/RSS award Mick Godley awardHonorary membership 
2022 Emma Crawford 
2021Lisa HampsonLyn TaylorRay Harris
2020Sandeep Menon David Lawrence  
2019Graeme Archer, Jacquie Christie & Mike Smith   Chrissie Fletcher 
2018Mouna Akacha & Simon BateAmanda Darekar & Ingrid Franklin 
2017Michael O'KellyPaul Terrill 
2016Richard NixonAaron Dane Lesley France
2015Nicky Best & Katrina Gore
Axel Krebs-Brown
2014Craig MallinckrodtIan Hirsch
2013Björn BornkampSally Anderton 
2012Harry SouthworthRebecca SudlowAlan Phillips
2011Phil WoodwardRachel Moate 
2010 Mike AylottJames Roger
2009 Florence Le Maulf 
2008 Kerry Dillingham 
2007 Robert ToorawaStephen Senn
2006 Ann Cleverly 
2005 Sharon Laing 
2004 Jo Michael 
2003 Emma Simmons 

Honorary members awarded before 2003: Jorgen Seldrup, Mick Godley, Andy Grieve, David Morgan, Alan Ebbutt, John Lewis

University prize awards

Each academic year, PSI awards between 10 to 15 prizes of £100 each to university students who have excelled in their BSc or MSc with mathematical and statistical content. In previous years, these prizes have been awarded to those attaining the highest overall grade for the year, or the highest grade of dissertation for example. Any University running a relevant BSc or MSc course is invited to apply for a prize; once awarded, the university can choose a suitable recipient and the prize is given in the Summer (for BSc courses) or Autumn (for MSc courses).  

Upcoming Events

Latest Jobs